September 7, 2022 um 11:00 am ROOM A

A family of bridges in Riedlingen

This years footbridge conference in Madrid is the continuation of a long set of Conferences that started in Paris in 2002, followed by cities as Porto, Venice, Wroclaw, London and Berlin. The present edition tries to follow the aim of the Berlin’s 2017 conference. In that case the moto of the congress was ‘tell us a story’; now we want to know more about the feeling and experience of users, owners, designers and constructors.

In Riedlingen/Danube (Germany), extensive flood protection measures had to be implemented in recent years, with the result that many of the existing bridges had to be replaced. The bridges are very important for Riedlingen, as they provide access to the historic town center. The opportunity was used to develop an urban design concept with an interdisciplinary planning team. The entrances to the old town were enhanced with their own sojourn quality. As a result, three new bridges were built and another one is currently under construction.
It is a rare opportunity and special task to design several bridges that are within a few hundred meters of each other. It is important to ensure not only that the structures are integrated into their respective environments, but also that there is an appropriate hierarchy among them. For the bridges in Riedlingen, the aim was to create modern, elegant structures that complemented their historical or near-natural surroundings. At the same time, they were to set a high architectural standard that had the potential to act as a catalyst for future redevelopment areas in the city. It was essential to take the lighting design concept into account at an early stage of planning.

Speaker
Sven Plieninger
Christiane Sander
Tilo Behrmann

September 7, 2022 um 11:00 am Raum A

Eine Brückenfamilie in Riedlingen

Die diesjährige ‚footbridge‚ Konferenz in Madrid ist die Fortsetzung einer langen Reihe von Konferenzen, die 2002 in Paris begann, gefolgt von Städten wie Porto, Venedig, Breslau, London und Berlin. Die aktuelle Ausgabe versucht, dem Ziel der Berliner Konferenz von 2017 zu folgen. Damals lautete das Motto des Kongresses „Erzähl uns eine Geschichte“; jetzt wollen wir mehr über die Gefühle und Erfahrungen von Nutzern, Eigentümern, Designern und Konstrukteuren erfahren.

In Riedlingen mussten in den letzten Jahren umfangreiche Hochwasserschutzmaßnahmen durchgeführt werden, so dass viele der vorhandenen Brücken ersetzt werden mussten. Da sie den Zugang zum historischen Stadtkern ermöglichen, sind die Brücken sind für Riedlingen sehr wichtig. Diese Gelegenheit wurde genutzt, um mit einem interdisziplinären Planungsteam ein städtebauliches Konzept zu entwickeln. Die Stadteingänge der Altstadt wurden mit hoher Aufenthaltsqualität gestaltet. In diesem Zusammenhang wurden drei neue Brücken gebaut, eine weitere befindet sich derzeit im Bau.
Es ist eine seltene Gelegenheit und besondere Aufgabe, mehrere Brücken zu entwerfen, die nur wenige hundert Meter voneinander entfernt sind. Es ist nicht nur wichtig, dass sich die Bauwerke in ihre jeweilige Umgebung einfügen, sondern auch, dass es eine angemessene Hierarchie zwischen ihnen gibt. Für die Brücken in Riedlingen galt es, moderne, elegante Bauwerke zu schaffen, die sich in ihre historische oder naturnahe Umgebung einfügen. Gleichzeitig sollten sie einen hohen architektonischen Standard setzen, der das Potential hat, als Impuls für zukünftige Sanierungsgebiete in der Stadt zu wirken. Es war wichtig, das Beleuchtungskonzept bereits in einem frühen Planungsstadium mit einzubeziehen.

Speaker
Sven Plieninger
Christiane Sander
Tilo Behrmann