Knut Göppert

Zur Person

Knut Göppert studied structural engineering at the Universities of Stuttgart, Karlsruhe and Calgary. In 1989 he joined the Stuttgart office of schlaich bergermann partner and has been a partner since 1998.

With numerous projects completed during his career with schlaich bergermann partner, Knut Göppert has a proven record of designing architecturally pleasing structures that are efficient and, therefore, economical. He brings a wealth of experience to projects, especially to the design of state-of-the-art stadiums and venues. His profound working knowledge extends across all aspects and phases of structural engineering services as well as to the management of interdisciplinary teams around the world.

He has been responsible for numerous realized stadium projects, including stadia for the Football World Cups in Brazil, South Korea, Germany and South Africa as well as sports venues for the 2012 Olympic Games in London and EURO 2012 in Poland and Ukraine. Recognized as an expert in the areas of lightweight structures, retractable roof solutions and building with membranes, Knut Göppert has received several significant awards and has published and lectured widely in the field.


  • Baden-Württemberg Chamber of Engineers
  • IASS International Association for Shell and Spatial Structures, Working group retractable roof structures, and Editorial Committee of IASS Journal
  • Konvent der Baukultur 2010
  • Architektur-Forum Baden-Württemberg, President
  • Structural Awards 2019, Supreme Award for Structural Engineering Excellence and Award for Long Span Structures: Tottenham Hotspur Stadium, London
  • Ingenieurpreis des Deutschen Stahlbaues 2015, category buildings, honorary mention: Stadium Maracanã (Estádio Jornalista Mário Filho), Rio de Janeiro
  • 13. Ingenieurbau-Preis 2012 for National Stadium Warsaw, Poland
  • 2012 Award of Excellence Miscellaneous für BC Place, Vancouver
  • IOC/IAKS Award 2011 Gold for Grenpoint Stadium Cape Town
  • SAISC Steel Award South Africa 2009, Overall Winner, Moses Mabhida Stadium Durban
  • IABSE Outstanding Structure Award 2007 for the the roof structure of the Commerzbank Arena in Frankfurt
MHP-Arena Umbau
Tottenham Hotspur Stadion
Glasskulptur “Qwalala” von Pae White
National Sports Complex Olimpiyskiy
Nationalstadion Brasília