Prof. Dr. Mike Schlaich

Personal Profile

Mike Schlaich has been a partner at schlaich bergermann partner since 1999 and professor and chair of Conceptual and Structural Design at the Technical University of Berlin since 2004. He is also a certified checking engineer for structural analysis. Mike Schlaich completed his studies and dissertation at the ETH Zurich.

He was responsible for award-winning projects such as the Ting Kau cable-stayed bridge in Hong Kong, pedestrian bridges in Rathenow, Oberhausen, Sassnitz, Leer and Greifswald, as well as road and rail bridges in Geel, Ingolstadt and Léon. Examples of his extraordinary designs can be seen all over the world. As part of his collaboration with internationally renowned architects, Mike Schlaich has won numerous national and international awards in recent years, including the German Bridge Construction Award, the Balthasar Neumann Award and the German Engineering Award. In 2016, he was awarded the Gold Medal from London’s Institution of Structural Engineers, and in 2021 the Anton Tedesko Medal of the International Association for Bridge and Structural Engineering.

As a specialist in lightweight structures, Mike Schlaich is a strong advocate of a holistic, conceptual design approach, which assigns more responsibility to the engineer in order to create a greater contribution to building culture. His designs for high-caliber structures strive to improve the quality of life through ecological, functional, and aesthetic aspects. His curiosity as a scientist and practitioner drives him to always look beyond the horizon and seek new possibilities, designing a holistic approach whenever possible.


  • Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • Akademie der Künste Berlin, Sektion Baukunst
  • acatech – Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften
  • Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), Foreign Fellow
  • Institution of Structural Engineers, London, Fellow
  • IABSE-International Association for Bridge & Structural Engineering, Fellow
  • IASS – International Association of Shell and Spatial Structures
  • FIB – International Federation for Structural Concrete
  • Colegio de Ingenieros CCP, Madrid
  • SIA – Schweizer Ingenieur- und Architektenverein
  • Deutscher Brückenbaupreis 2020 für den Steg TRUMPF, Ditzingen
  • Medalla de ACHE, A Coruña, 2017
  • Deutscher Ingenieurbaupreis 2016 für Fußgängerbrücke Rathenow
  • Gold Medal by The Institution of Structural Engineers, London, 2015
  • Ingenieurpreis des Deutschen Stahlbaues 2015 für die Überdachung Ausfahrt KundenCenter, Autostadt Wolfsburg
  • Deutscher Brückenbaupreis 2014 für die Gänsebachtalbrücke
  • Deutscher Brückenbaupreis 2010 für die Fußgängerbrücke Sassnitz
  • Balthasar-Neumann-Preis 2008 für Monumento 11M, Madrid
  • Ingenieurbau-Preis 1998 für Glacisbrücke Ingolstadt
  • Schinkelpreis 1992 für Fußgängerbrücke über die Spree in Berlin
Footbridge TRUMPF
L’Arc de Triomphe, Wrapped (Project for Paris, France)
Yamuna Bridge at Wazirabad
Porsche Pavilion Autostadt Wolfsburg
Tram Stop at Berlin Main Train Station